Exceptional Physician Awards Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Who is eligible?

A: Any individual UCSF Health attending physician, resident or fellow who is not a past recipient and whose primary site of practice is UCSF Health (West Bay, BCH Oakland, UCSF Health Network and all Bay Area locations), may be nominated for this award. View the list of past award recipients who may not be nominated again.

Physicians who were nominated in the past but did not win may be nominated again; we encourage such repeat nominations. 

Q: Who can nominate?

A: All West Bay, BCH Oakland, UCSF Health Network, and all Bay Area locations employees may submit a nomination. All nominations must be seconded by a UCSF or BCH Oakland physician. Multiple nominations for individual physicians are accepted.

A nominator may nominate more than one physician. Submit a separate nomination form for each physician. 

Q: What is the difference between a first and second nominator?

A: Each nomination requires the names of two nominators. The first nominator submits the nomination. The second nominator endorses the nomination, but should not submit a separate nomination form. One of the two nominators must be a physician.

Q: Can Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital (ZSFG) or Veterans Administration Medical Centers (VAMC) physicians be nominated?

A: Nominations are limited to those whose primary practice site is part of a UCSF Health location, the sponsoring health system for this award. ZSFG and VAMC have their own award programs.

Q: How do I submit my nomination? 

A: Use this form to submit your nomination. 

Did you know that there are over 100 healthcare-related recognitions throughout the year?

Don't wait, the time is always right to send your colleagues a digital card through the Recognize platform to let them know how much you appreciate them!